Articles matching tag: Sprint Cup

  1. Column: Jimmie Johnson The Best Of All TimeDecember 1, 2016

    It’ll Never Happen Again, by Tim Hardin Tim Hardin 1, 1966 Move over, Richard Petty. You too, Dale Earnhardt, Sr. Make room for Jimmie Johnson. The Mount Rushmore of NASCAR now includes three names after Johnson won his record-tying seventh Sprint Cup Championship at the Homestead-Miami Speedway. With the win, Johnson joins The King, Petty, and The Intimidator, Earnhardt, Sr. as the only drivers in history to achieve that lofty goal. And Johnson, the youngest of the three to win seven and the only active driver with more than one, may not be done. At 41, Johnson has the time, health, focus and team resources to win more titles.